Giving thanks

27 11 2009

This is a day late, but inspired by my favorite person in the world, I thought it’d be appropriate to mention some of the things I’m thankful for.

First and foremost, I’m thankful for my children, Rebi, Evan, Ellie, Ty, and Nate. I’m so very proud of all of them. As they get older, they continually impress me in every way conceivable. I love them and consider my part in bringing them into the world and raising them by far my greatest accomplishment. They’re all better than I ever will be.

I’m incredibly grateful for Amy. This has easily been the most difficult year in my life so far, but having Amy unexpectedly come into my life has been the silver lining. She is smart, beautiful, funny, sweet, sexy, and loving, and she makes me happier than I thought I could be. I love her and everything about her.

I’m lucky to have a great group of friends and family that have helped me get through the tough patches this year. I’m impressed and touched by the empathy and compassion I felt from so many of you. I’m not going to name names, but you know who you are. Those of you who have judged me harshly without knowing all the facts can suck it.

I’m thankful to have a fantastic job, especially with the current economy. Not only do I get paid to do something I genuinely enjoy, but I work with a great group of people that I actually like.

Finally, I’m thankful for Amy’s neighbor who left their wireless network open so that I could post this. Thanks, whomever you are!

Update:

After posting this, it occurred to me that I was remiss in not mentioning that I’m thankful for Lissa. Despite the divorce, she has had a profound impact on my life. We had a lot of good times together, and I learned a lot from our relationship together. She has been one of my closest friends, and she certainly deserves much of the credit for the way my kids turned out.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 11 2009
Tomas

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your article “Game Programming Beginners Guide” posted at gamedev.net.

As a PHP pro, I found it as a very interesting kick-off for my recent research on game development (as I started with Stackless Python for this reason).

All the best and kind regards, T.

29 11 2009
Success Warrior

“Those of you who have judged me harshly without knowing all the facts can suck it.”

Made me laugh. It should be in every Thanksgiving post. =)

Leave a Reply

